From hiking to cycling

I know nothing about bikes. Well, I know how to ride one of course. Although to be completely honest I’m not sure I’m very good at using all those gears properly yet. So when I left Penrith station today with my new old bike fully loaded, I felt a mix of excitement and “what on earth are you doing now” kind of feeling.

I’m use to riding a bike around or to work. But one day, while I was at work day dreaming about the coming 4 months trip to Europe, it came as a evidence. I needed more and I would ride a bike around bits and pieces of Europe while visiting my friends and family.

So I started reading about bikes. A lot. And I talked to my friends who’d done touring before (thank you so much for your  patience and tips). And I read books and blogs. A lot.

I won’t bore you with more details about which bike to choose and why but I ended up going for a second hand Long haul trucker Surly bike that I pimped a bit.

So there I am at Penrith station this afternoon, heading towards the hills. It is nice and hot in northern England at the moment which makes the English countryside even more gorgeous.

25 miles later I made it to my first destination, Brampton (Cumbria). I have no idea where I’ll end up tomorrow but today I’ve learned 2 things:

1/ Do not underestimate British hills

2/ Do not underestimate yourself

Edinburgh here I come!

IMG_20160604_120735151_HDR

Waiting for the train at Manchester station

IMG_20160604_174953581_HDR

Trying not to rely on GPS and phone too much

 

IMG_20160604_174925517

Freedom!!

IMG_20160604_193123052_HDR

Lovely Sandysike farm

IMG_20160604_175359012

Riding through Cumbria

 

Leave a Reply

