Random coffee stories from Peru and Bolivia

“- Un café, por favor

– Aqui no hay café, lo siento

– Pero el menu dice “café”

– Ah si, pero solamente en la mañana para el desayuno”

It was in the afternoon, at the market in Huaraz, Peru, where I learnt that coffee is mostly served for breakfast. This is how it works while travelling, learning by doing. Don’t get me wrong, Peruvians drink and love coffee, they all told me so. But my impression is that coca leaf tea is way more popular, and available. They drink it as a “mate” (infusion with cane sugar) all day long, or chew it. Not only the coca leaves give you energy but they also help with altitude.

(By the way, I mostly travelled from the north to the south of the Andes, so I can only speak for what I’ve experienced there. The country is huge though, and I’m sure things are different by the sea or in the jungle near the Amazon river).

Quick history fact: coca leaves have been chewed for centuries in the area (as far as Inca time). When the Spanish arrived, they forbid it, convinced that was something evil. But when grounded from their precious energizer, mine workers happened to not be as efficient. That’s why chewing coca got authorized again. I’m not going into details here, but the coca leaves belong to the core of the Peruvian/Bolivian cultures. They are in every aspects of the cultures, from the daily life to the offers to gods.

IMAG1442

Here’s one myth behind the origin of the leaf, found at the coca museum in Cusco.

Let me introduce you to my new coffee toy: la cafetera! This one comes from Cusco in Peru, but can be found in other countries in South America. It looks a bit like an Italian coffee maker, but doesn’t work the same way. This is a  drip coffee maker: the water is poured from the top, going through the coffee grounds, ending up in the lower part.

cafetera

Beautiful, isn’t it?

With that pot, most places prepare some kind of “coffee extract” (as they call it), mostly made to be mixed with hot milk (which is most of the time evaporated milk) or hot water, and sugar (recommended). This is called a “café pasado”.

Café con leche… or… leche con café!

In major cities, it is quite easy to find a restaurant or a café with an espresso machine. But anywhere else, this is how you will be served coffee. Bon voyage!

IMAG1393

This is a “leche con café”: a glass of hot milk, a jar of coffee extract so you can add as little/much coffee as you want, sugar and…mate de coca! In Huaraz, Peru.

 

IMAG1357

Same, at another café in Huaraz, Peru.

 

IMAG1350

Two coffees with milk, in Piura, Peru.

 

IMAG1496

A coffee with milk and the best unexpected cup of black coffee I had in a market, a well-roasted Peruvian coffee from Sandia.

 

IMAG1548

An old-school Bunn coffee maker in a café in La Paz, Bolivia.

 

IMAG1498

Hornimans tea…that kind of tea!

 

IMAG1501

There was a good laugh involved when we first were given “mini kraps” to eat in the bus…

 

And last but not least! Remember I told you about café Arabica in Lima? Well, there was another good surprise. After 30 hours in busses from La Paz to Lima, I finally made it to Lima airport. I had 9 hours to wait for my flight, and there was no wifi available, so the obvious solution was…to borrow Starbucks’. I went there, and fortunately, it was full. I decided to explore a bit further and there it was, the perfect cosy little café that you don’t expect to find in airports. I walk closer and guess what I see?

IMAG1566

“Come Audrey, come try us”

And the cherry on the cake, they have wifi! The coffee was very good, the barista and the waiters extremely nice. I had a yummy brownie and the my neighbours’ food look and smelled delicious. We talked about coffee for a while and I happily boarded the plane hours later with a sample of Peruvian coffee to brew at home, how nice! The place is called Pikeos and opened at the end of may. I warmly recommend it if you ever hang out at Lima airport.

IMAG1575

Beautifully roasted Peruvian coffee (unfortunately I cant’ remember where it’s from, if you’ve been to Peru you can probably understand why)

Leave a Reply

